Virtualization

May 18, 2009 at 5:47 am 1 comment

| Gabriel |

Sometimes you want to use a tool that’s not available for your operating system. For instance, I use a Mac but I sometimes want to use Windows software (eg Pajek) or Unix software (eg Dia). Likewise, Windows users might envy the system tools provided by POSIX systems. Since POSIX has a lot of very powerful text-processing tools I think this should be particularly appealing to culture quants. My own basic solution is to use API emulation for Windows and a full-blown virtual machine for Unix applications.

A lot of people use dual boot solutions for this, but I’m not as fond of this. The way this works is that when you turn on the computer you choose which OS you want to use. For instance OS X Leopard includes “boot camp” and programs like Grub and Wubi let you choose between Windows and Linux. Once you’re in the environment you can only use the software native to that environment and you sometimes even have limited access to the file system of the other environment. The upside is that once you get them working they make minimal demands on system resources. There are really two problems with this approach. One is that you have to reboot to switch between, say, Windows apps and Mac apps. The other is that some of these solutions are a little dangerous as most of them involve things like partitions. This is particularly the case with Macs, which have a weird BIOS and partition table so dual-boot solutions other than boot camp don’t work very smoothly with them. I’ve tried to get my Mac running as dual boot with Linux twice and both times I ended up having to reinstall OS X and restoring from Time Machine. (On the other hand I’ve had no problem installing dual-boots on Wintel machines, including the old clunker I used to write my dissertation which is now mostly running Xubuntu because it’s faster than XP).

Since OS X already has the full panoply of POSIX tools and can run any UNIX software, at first glance it doesn’t make sense that I’d want to run Linux on my Mac. The problem is that while in theory, MacOS should be able to run any UNIX software, this usually only works if it’s pre-compiled and most of it is not and I’ve had a lot of trouble getting Fink to work properly. It seems like it’s always missing some package or compiler and won’t compile the application. As such I find it easier just to keep a copy of Ubuntu so I can use the native package manager which never ever gives me any hassle. Basically, I’m so frustrated with Fink that I find it much easier to just use VirtualBox to run an Xubuntu virtual machine. VirtualBox is a free virtual machine manager that can run just about anything from just about anything. The main reason I use virtualization instead of dual-boot is that it’s impossible to damage your main OS by installing a virtual machine. Even if you can’t get it to work, the worst case scenario is you wasted your time, unlike trying to do a dual boot where you may have to start thinking about how good your most recent backup is and whether you still have all your installation discs. Of course the main downside to virtualization is that you split the system resources. The first way to handle this is to avoid bloated guest OS. You can get really small with DSL or Puppy, but the best ratio of user-friendly to compact is probably Xubuntu. Likewise If you’re installing a Windows guest OS you’d rather use XP than Vista. The second way to handle it is to buy more RAM. This is cheaper than you think because OEM’s in general, but especially Apple, use configuration as a form of price discrimination. Apple charges $100 to upgrade a new computer from 2GB to 4GB but you can get 4GB of RAM on Amazon for $50 and it takes about five minutes to install if you have a jeweler’s size philip’s head screw driver. (Their hard drives are even more over-priced).

For Windows software I don’t keep a virtual machine, in part because I don’t want to buy a Windows license and in part because I worry about the performance hit of running Windows as a VM. Instead I use Crossover, a proprietary build of Wine with better tech support. Crossover/Wine is a Windows API emulator, which is basically a minimalist virtual machine. It both runs much faster than a full-blown emulation and doesn’t require a license for the guest OS. On the other hand it can be slightly more buggy for some things, but in my experience Crossover works great with my old Microsoft Office 2003 for Windows license as well as Pajek.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Herd immunity, again Collaborative code

1 Comment

  • 1. Bash/Perl tutorial « Code and Culture  |  September 15, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    […] /mnt/. If you’re using Windows you’ll either need to a) install CygWin b) install a virtual machine c) run off a live cd or bootable stick or d) dual boot […]


The Culture Geeks


