Hide iTunes Store/Ping

September 13, 2010 at 4:44 am 2 comments

| Gabriel |

As a cultural sociologist who has published research on music as cultural capital, I understand how my successful presentation of self depends on me making y’all believe that I only listen to George Gershwin, John Adams, Hank Williams, the Raveonettes, and Sleater-Kinney, as compared to what I actually listen to 90% of the time, which is none of your fucking business. For this reason, along with generally being a web 2.0 curmudgeon, I’m not exactly excited about iTunes new social networking feature “Ping.” Sure, it’s opt-in and I appreciate that, but I am so actively uninterested in it that I don’t even want to see its icon in the sidebar. Hence I wrote this one-liner that hides it (along with the iTunes store).

defaults write com.apple.iTunes disableMusicStore -bool TRUE

My preferred way of running it is to use Automator to run it as a service in iTunes that takes no input.

Unfortunately it also hides the iTunes Store, which I actually use a couple times a month. To get the store (and unfortunately, Ping) back, either click through an iTunes store link in your web browser or run the command again but with the last word as “FALSE”.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Predicted vignettes Seeing like a state used to see

2 Comments

  • 1. Lisa Schweitzer  |  October 17, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    This made me LOL. BTW, I only listen to Bach and Air Supply.

  • […] Anyway, I was most recently aggravated by Spotify which (like most things nowadays) defaults to over-sharing. Spotify describes this to NPR as “Freeing people from the hassle of actively sharing songs they like [which] will help keep people engaged in their friends’ listening habits without effort.” Some of us prefer to have this “hassle” because the alternative is an uncensored view of our listening habits. As I wrote when Apple added its “Ping” social feature to iTunes: […]


The Culture Geeks


