Misc Links

May 6, 2011 at 6:46 pm

| Gabriel |

  • How to fix GrowlMail after an OS X system update
  • Discussion of alpha-centrality (which my co-authors and I used to measure Hollywood stardom).
  • Very interesting personal financial history of what it’s like to be an aspiring fashion model (h/t Yglesias). It’s basically a tournament model which means it ain’t fun. A lot of the contractual practices are very similar to the record industry, and to a lesser extent the Hollywood studio system. I may end up assigning this to my undergrads as it makes similar points to Slichter’s So You Wanna Be a Rock N Roll Star (which I already assign).
  • How to say “America, fuck yeah!” in dog

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Maybe a reason it would have been better to keep ASA in Chicago A Cloud-Hating Curmudgeon’s Unofficial Manual for a Grid-less Workflow on UCLA’s Hoffman2 Cluster


The Culture Geeks